Saturday, February 28, 2009

Night out on the town in Newps!

Well last night was lots of fun!!! We met some friends, Mike & Lisa, in Newport at a wine bar for a "couple" drinks and ended up staying 4 hours...and I thought it was going to be a mellow night! Before meeting up with them, we tried a new sushi joint over there called BlueFin in Crystal Cove. It is very well known for being one of the best sushi spots in OC and the owner (Takashi Abe) is the head sushi chef and worked with the famous Nobu for awhile before starting BlueFin. We read online that it's almost impossible to get him as your sushi chef and we didn't care enough to try. When we got there, they only had 2 seats left at the sushi bar at the very end so we took them. Before we knew it, Abe himself was explaining the menu to us and became our sushi chef! We didn't even realize it was him for 10 minutes and then we noticed he was only rolling for us and no one else! It was definitely an experience but the sushi still didn't even come close to our hole in the wall Gen Kai here in Dana Point. That place is just incomparable. Wait, I just realized this is not Yelp. You are all probably thinking "enough details about your freaking dinner already!". I will stop.

Back to drinks, it was really nice to get out and socialize. We've been doing more of that lately as opposed to cooking dinner and renting a movie or watching one of our favorite TV shows...We thought those times would never get old. Well, after almost 4 years of marriage, they did. :) Socializing is definitely more expensive than being loner lovebirds at home but everything is okay in moderation, right?? :) Mike & Lisa are really nice and fun people. And the wine bar was a great find. Decent priced wine and a great location on PCH near Corona del Mar. Food looked good too but we didn't have any. We will be going back soon for sure!!

This morning I was feeling the aftermath of last night's 4 hour wine session. I was dead set on foregoing the gym to sulk in my bed like a lazy girl but Thad got me motivated to "sweat that shit out" as he put it...so I did and I am very happy that I did!! I feel much better now. I did some Cardio followed by a very intense yoga class. At one point, the 50 something people in the class were balancing on one hand with nothing else touching the ground...I pretended to try so as not to seem like a weakling - but didn't come close. Baby steps, baby steps. I can finally touch my toes so that's a start!

I am currently trying to convince Thad that it would be SO MUCH FUN to go see Confessions of a Shopaholic later today... I reminded him of all the bending over backwards I've been doing for him lately (regarding movies people - such dirty minds!) but I still don't think it's going to happen. Wish me luck!! Thad , if you're reading this, I hope you will remember how awesome I am and how many "Thad movies" I've seen lately...and that a happy wife is a happy you!

1 comment:

  1. Sounds like a fun night out!! I can't wait to get home and go out for GOOD dinners by the beach. OH HOW I MISS THE BEACH!!! btw - why aren't you one of my followers. I'm one of yours you know.

    ReplyDelete