We had another doctor's appointment today - 11 weeks along! We had another ultrasound and got to see so much more of the little crazy bambino! Yipee! Thad now thinks the baby will take after me since they were moving around like a little spaz - waving his/her hands around like crazy, doing really fast somersaults, and at one point we think doing "jazz hands". lol It was really funny. The heartbeat is 152 bpm, strong & healthy! Getting to hear it again was so special. All of my bloodwork testing came back great and things are looking perfect. YAY!! Oh and my blood pressure is an ideal 120/80 which is literally "optimal" on the BP chart. I knew I measured optimal status in something.. :)
It was so neat to see how far the baby has come since our last visit 4 1/2 weeks ago...went from a little dot to a real baby! We got to see the baby's profile and everything, so sureal that it's grown so much & resembles a real human being now! The machine was acting up so we didn't get any pics to take home this time :( We did however decide to find out the gender after all which can be done now by 3D ultrasound at just 15 weeks! So when we go home in 4 weeks to Danville we have an appointment already set to find out at my good friend Erin's cousin's 3D place. So excited!! Besides finding out the gender, we will get some super detailed 3D pics at that appointment too which I will definitely be posting afterwards for you all to oodle over ;)
There is an old wives tale that if the hearbeat is over 140 at anytime during the pregnancy it's a girl but there isn't much truth to that I guess :) According to the Chinese Gender Chart, which is said to be over 90% accurate, we are also having a girl! Signs are all pointing in that direction hehehe. Look out Thad, a mini Jenny could be coming your way..and when I say "look out", I mean "BRACE YOURSELF FOR A CRAZY NEXT 18 YEARS!" Well maybe more than 18, I am 27 and still driving my parents crazy! Uh oh..
The baby is a Plum now and is so cute!!!
Thursday, April 23, 2009
Sunday, April 19, 2009
Yummy Yummy Dave's Tacos in my tummy!
It's a beautiful day today, almost 90 at the beach with a little ocean breeze - Sunday perfection at Casa OG! Earlier this week we went to Dave & Tasha's house in San Clemente for some Tacos, well, so we thought! It ended up being a super yummy mexican feast! Dave cooks the best mexican food I've ever had and this was no exception. He made carne asada tacos, homemade tortilla soup, two different types of fresh homemade salsa, yummy mexican rice and horchata! It was so yummy. We had a great time with them as always, watching the sunset over the ocean & chatting/laughing up a storm until the lame pregnant chick (a.k.a me) had to retire to her bed, at a measly 9:20 PM. :) I actually couldn't believe I made it that late! It was a great night and we love those two little lovebirds. They are engaged & getting married next October in Tasha's homeland, Hawaii!
Dave's food was so good that it inspired me to cook my own mexican meal for tonights dinner. It won't even compare to his but I just had to try & was dying to have it again. I found a great recipe for carne asada marinade and started the process early this morning. I'm making some homemade fresh guacamole, tomatillo salsa, carne asada tacos with all the fixins and beans and rice. Our kitchen has smelled like garlic & lime all day and it's driving me insane! The meat needs to marinade until at least 4:30 so we will be eating shortly after that. Can't wait! Thad was at the gym when I decided to make this scrumptuous meal that we just had, and I thought he may not be too excited since he ate 5 tacos the other night, but when he called me on his way home from the gym some of the first words out of his mouth were "god I just want more mexican food!". I told him he was in luck :) I told my mom about Dave's meal and it inspired her too! She is making a full carne asada feast for sunday family dinner. She is really going the extra mile and making homemade roasted tomato salsa too, I bought mine in a jar. :)
Well I guess that's about all to report for now. We shall call this the food post. We rented "The Reader" and will be watching that later too. Looks good!
The baby is a lime this week - how exciting! Next week - a plum. Geez they grow fast, to think only 7 weeks ago he/she was a poppy seed. I will be posting on Thursday after my doc appointment & ultrasound! Yay!
Adios!
Dave's food was so good that it inspired me to cook my own mexican meal for tonights dinner. It won't even compare to his but I just had to try & was dying to have it again. I found a great recipe for carne asada marinade and started the process early this morning. I'm making some homemade fresh guacamole, tomatillo salsa, carne asada tacos with all the fixins and beans and rice. Our kitchen has smelled like garlic & lime all day and it's driving me insane! The meat needs to marinade until at least 4:30 so we will be eating shortly after that. Can't wait! Thad was at the gym when I decided to make this scrumptuous meal that we just had, and I thought he may not be too excited since he ate 5 tacos the other night, but when he called me on his way home from the gym some of the first words out of his mouth were "god I just want more mexican food!". I told him he was in luck :) I told my mom about Dave's meal and it inspired her too! She is making a full carne asada feast for sunday family dinner. She is really going the extra mile and making homemade roasted tomato salsa too, I bought mine in a jar. :)
Well I guess that's about all to report for now. We shall call this the food post. We rented "The Reader" and will be watching that later too. Looks good!
The baby is a lime this week - how exciting! Next week - a plum. Geez they grow fast, to think only 7 weeks ago he/she was a poppy seed. I will be posting on Thursday after my doc appointment & ultrasound! Yay!
Adios!
Saturday, April 4, 2009
Knocked UP!

Well I think all of you who read my blog already know this news but we found out in early March that we're PREGNANT!! I'm currently in week 9 of my pregnancy and my due date is November 14th. The excitement set in instantly but hearing the baby's heartbeat a couple of weeks ago made it REALLY REAL. This pic above is the first ultrasound pic of Baby OG - from when I was 6 weeks 3 days along. Kinda blurry but you can see the little bambino! The heartbeat was 126 bpm already at just over 6 weeks - very strong the doc said! There is a person inside my belly. Crazy! I have had a pretty easy pregnancy so far until this week, when a lot of morning sickness set in. I had an episode at Baja Fish Tacos on Wednesday that I won't mention details about on here...just know that it was disgusting and extremely embarrassing. :) Only other major symptom (aside from my gargantuous boobs & relocating to the bathroom since I need to pee about every 2 seconds) is that I have been extremely tired since prior to even knowing I was pregnant..oh yeah, back to that, we found out the amazing news in Hawaii at my favorite hotel that I have many childhood memories from. It was so exciting and just perfect timing! We think the baby was conceived on Valentine's Day but we could be a day or two off...we will tell it that anyway...our little love child :) Coincidentally, my due date is the same as my mom's due date was with me however I was exactly 2 weeks late making my birthday 11/28. How crazy is that? So I am actually hoping my baby will be born late, at least 11/23 or later so that it's a Sagitarrius like me, my mom and my grandma. Sags are the best! Sags are awfully crazy though..I was jumping out of my crib at 7 months...so maybe I am setting myself up here for payback.. :) Yes, I am willing to carry around a watermelon for an additional 9 days just to make the baby a Sag!!
Thad (a.k.a "Daddy" as he has started to refer to himself in the third person as) has been super cute about everything. He even has his little daddy book already that he is reading (or supposed to be reading..) and he has been very inquisitive about everything I am going through. For example, at our first ultrasound visit I had to pee in a cup in the bathroom while he waited in the ultrasound room...when I returned, he had this serious look on his face and was like "so what did you do exactly? You pee'd in a cup and then what?" like he was being left out or something. Next time he can come in with me if he wants. haha he cracks me up and has actually gotten so much funnier since we starting dating 8 1/2 years ago...not that he wasn't funny then..but he is just SO funny now. :)
We have already started thinking about names and have narrowed it down to a few for each gender. Oh yeah, we are NOT finding out the gender ahead of time. I know this has been shocking to everyone but we just think that there are not enough suprises in life and for some reason I have always had this picture in my head of Thad running out to the waiting room in his scrubs announcing to the whole group of family & friends what the gender is...oh yes, and a tear streams down his face too...hahah This is definitely my imagination but since I won't actually be out there to witness this I will just continue to imagine that is how it happened afterwards..:)
Well I guess that is all I to report right now...I have pee'd twice since beginning this blog. It is really annoying! I am off to get a bagel for breakfast and Thad is playing old man doubles at 8:30 at the tennis club. He loves those old guys...I think they make him feel like he's still a young buck...if that were the case he wouldn't be loading up on Advil right now to prepare haha :)
I will keep you posted on the bambino (currently the size of an olive, soon to be the size of a plum!)...next doctor's appointment is 4/23. YAY!!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)